TECNIA INSTITUTE OF ADVANCED STUDIES

Grade 'A' Institute

Ref. No. TIAS/DoJMC/DAC/2022-23/72

Date: 28/02/2023

Department of Journalism and Mass Communication (BAJMC)

Minutes of the Meeting

The Departmental Academic Committee meeting of Department of Journalism & Mass Communication was held on 28 February 2023 (Tuesday) at 12:10 PM at Board Room, TIAS in Hybrid Mode under the chairmanship of Dr. Gopal Thakur.

The following members were present in offline/online mode:

S.N.	Name	Member	
1.	Dr. Gopal Thakur	DAC Chairperson, HoD	
2.	Dr. Shivendu Kumar Rai	Co-Chairperson, HOD	
3.	Dr. Dhirendra Kumar Rai	External Member	
4.	Dr. Aditya Kumar Mishra	External Member	
5.	Dr. Vikash Singh	External Member	
6.	Dr. Vipul Partap	Member	
7.	Dr. Rajnesh Kr. Pandey	Member	
8.	Dr. Shaheen Bano Member		
9.	Dr. Rajni Yadav	Member	
10.	Ms. Jyoti Gupta	Member	
11.	Ms. Priyanka Singh	Member	

Academic Experts:

- 1. Prof. (Dr.) Dhirendra Kumar Rai (Department of Journalism & Mass Communication, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi)
- 2. Dr. Vikash Singh, Director, School of Journalism and Mass Communication, Uttaranchal University, Dehradun, Uttarakhand.

Industry Expert:

1. Dr. Aditya Kumar Mishra, Senior Journalist, ETV and Academic Coordinator, IIMC

Jagniti Karan Su

The meeting began with a welcome address by the Chairperson, Dr. Gopal Thalur. He thanked everyone for joining the Departmental Academic Committee meeting. He also summarized the agenda of the meeting. Further, each agenda point was discussed in detail as follows:

Agenda No.1: To confirm the minutes of the previous meeting held on 15.09.2022.

Agenda No.2: To discuss the Action taken report of the Minutes of the last meeting held on 15.09.22.

Agenda No.3: To apprise the scheme of the syllabi, for academic session 2022-23, provided by the affiliating University for the upcoming 2^{nd} , 4^{th} and 6^{th} semesters.

Agenda No.4: To discuss and approve the proposed updated OBE (Outcome based education) for the upcoming 2nd, 4th and 6th semester.

- > PO, CO, PAM, CAM.
- > Course Delivery Plan reflecting student centric approach.
- > Continuous Internal Assessment scheme and procedure as per the University guidelines.
- > Components to be implemented for Student Centric Teaching Pedagogy.

Resolution/2022-23/72/01: The proposed updated OBE for the upcoming 2nd, 4th and 6th semester has been approved by unified members. Course articulation matrix will help the faculties to corelate the program outcomes with the course outcomes to ensure the better understanding of the students. The approach of course delivery plan will be student centric and continuous internal assessment scheme will be followed for best outcome as per the University guidelines.

Agenda No.5: To discuss and approve the proposed subject allocation for the upcoming Even semester as per the expertise and subject preference list.

Resolution /2022-23/72/02: The proposed subject allocation for the upcoming Even semester has been discussed and approved by all the members. Furthermore, subjects have been allotted to all the faculties as per the approval.

Agenda No.6: To discuss and approve the proposed Faculty timetable as per the credit scheme given for 2nd, 4th and 6th semester.

Resolution /2022-23/72/03: With the unanimous members, the proposed faculty timetable as per the credit scheme given for 2nd, 4th and 6th semester has been finalized for the session 2022-23

Per, Wor

Drivanka

SAIT-CHE SALVES

Agenda No.7: To discuss and confirm the proposed Value-Added Courses to be floated in the upcoming 2nd, 4th and 6th semester. (To enhance the competencies)

Resolution /2022-23/72/04: A list of value added courses has been discussed to be floated in the upcoming 2nd, 4th and 6th semester, from which 3 courses i.e. Certification in Communicative Hindi, Public speaking and street play and Certification in Online story telling have been finalized.

Agenda No.8: To apprise the members about the Summary report of Mentor-Mentee system.

Agenda No.9: To take the progression update on the Research and Development status of the Department.

- > Faculty Development Program (Themes/Subjects and scheduling)
- ➤ National and International Conferences/Seminar (Themes/Subjects and scheduling)
- Annual Target for Faculty members to be accomplished for Research and Development.

Resolution /2022-23/72/05: The proposed research and development activities i.e. FDP on transformation of media education, Workshop on research methodology etc have been discussed. Faculties recommended that financial support should be given by management to accomplish the research and development projects smoothly.

Agenda No.10: To discuss and approve the actions to be taken for the Slow and Advanced learners.

A list of actions to be taken for the Slow and Resolution /2022-23/72/06: Advanced learners has been discussed and approved by the unanimous members.

Agenda No.11: To discuss and encourage about the implementation of MOOCs for Faculty Members and Students for their academic enrichment.

Resolution /2022-23/72/07: With reference to above agenda, it has been decided that faculty members as well as students should be encouraged for MOOC for their academic enrichment.

Agenda No.12: Any other relevant matter with the permission of the chair.

Recommendations: The syllabus of Corporate Communication (210) and Public relation (204) are quite similar. Similarly, syllabus of Television Programing and Production (206) and Television News: Reporting and Anchoring (208) are similar. It has been recommended that these subjects should be merged.

Other members recommended that Digital studios should be available for the students. Apart from this, technical equipment i.e. teleprompter, video editing software, separate media room, ICT enabled classroom and digital cameras should also be made available so that students can

Mayant Riponka Paraci

apply classroom learning for practical exposure. On this recommendation it has been made clear that institute already have above mentioned technical equipment.

List of DAC Members in the Department of Journalism and Mass Communication

S.N.	Name	Member	Sign
1.	Dr. Vipul Partap	DAC Chairperson, HoD	Vipul
2.	Dr. Shivendu Kumar Rai	Co-Chairperson	Juliu
3.	Prof.(Dr.) A.R. Musawwir	External Member	online]
4.	Mr. Parakram Singh, Anchor(Sansad TV)	External Member	online
5.	Dr. Gopal Thakur	Member	abe
6.	Dr. Jagriti Basera	Member	Segniti
7.	Mr. Mayank Arora	Member	Mayak
8.	Ms. Ritika Choudhary	Member	Rifira
9	Ms. Priyanka Singh	Member	Briyanka
10.	Ms. Jyoti Gupta	Member	-yoti
11.	Mr. Karan Singh	Member	Toway

Copy to:

-Dean, Academics, TIAS

-IQAC, TIAS

-Director, TIAS

VIPUL HOD HOD TIAS